What’s Happening at MKA

12.04.2015 — Congratulations to our own Jon Magnusson, who on Friday was presented with the Inaugural ENR NW Legacy Award celebrating his career of engineering contributions in the Pacific Northwest and beyond. Jon has been involved in the most significant buildings in Seattle over the past 20 years, including Benaroya Hall, EMP, Seattle Central Library, Washington State Convention Center, Safeco Field, and CenturyLink Field, to name just a few.

As Ron Klemencic stated — Magnusson took “a firm with a rich legacy of creativity in the 1950s and 1960s and leveraged it, propelling it to an even higher level. He polished it, focused it and brought in the talent required to carry that legacy forward.”

Jon continues to mentor the next generation of leaders in engineering both internally at MKA and also in the industry through his speaking engagements and his involvement in establishing the local branch of the ACE Mentor Program which exposes high school students in Seattle’s Puget Sound area to potential career opportunities in the architecture, construction and engineering professions. Our sincere congratulations to Jon!

» JDM Accepts ENR NW Legacy Award

07.01.2015 — The Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) recently announced their selections of the Fifty Significant Projects designed by SEAOI members over the last 50 years.  MKA is proud to have engineered three of these projects.  Pictured from left to right: Aqua, 111 South Wacker and 300 East Randolph (Vertical Completion Project).

» SEAOI Fifty Significant Projects in Fifty Years

06.22.2015 — Congratulations to Peter Somers, P.E., S.E. who was recognized by the Structural Engineers Association of Washington (SEAW) as the 2015 Seattle Chapter Engineer of the Year. Peter was honored at the Chapter’s Annual Awards event held Monday, June 22nd. 

Peter is a Principal at MKA working on a variety of project types including office, residential and retail. He also specializes in seismic evaluations, renovations, and expansion of existing structures, including historic and landmark buildings. Peter has contributed to SEAW by serving on several committees as well as being a member of the Board of Directors and current Past President.  We congratulate Peter on such a great honor!

Photo Credit: J Mark D’Amato

» Peter Somers SEAW Structural Engineer of the Year

06.06.2015 — Saturday, June 6th the Structural Engineers Association of Illinois (SEAOI) held their annual Excellence in Structural Engineering awards ceremony.

MKA was pleased to be the recipient of the award for "Best Project >$150 million" for Levi’s Stadium. Judge’s comments included, "Creating a design solution which allowed the construction of 1 billion dollars of work at such a pace is truly impressive." This is the 13th time in 14 years that MKA has won a top SEAOI award.

Also during the evening, MKA Chairman and CEO, Ron Klemencic, received the John F. Parmer Award, which "honors a structural engineer whose distinguished career was acknowledged by his peers to be an example of excellence."

Celebrating the evening were MKA Chicago staff including Senior Principal and Chicago Office Leader, David Eckmann, Adam Theiss, Bethany Myelle, Lucas Cusack, Haley Gunst and their guests.

» SEAOI Awards 2015

04.01.2015 — Jon Magnusson has been named the Inaugural Recipient of Engineering News Record Northwest’s new Legacy Award, which recognizes “enduring contributions of industry professionals to their profession, their community and the built environment.”

Jon has had a hand in virtually every significant public building constructed in Seattle over the past two decades, including the Seattle Federal Courthouse; Safeco Field, home to Major League Baseball’s Seattle Mariners; and CenturyLink Field, home to the National Football League’s Seattle Seahawks.  He also founded the ACE Mentor Program of Washington, which pairs high school students with mentors in architecture, construction, and engineering. Read more here.

» Jon Magnusson receives ENR Northwest’s inaugural Legacy Award

03.03.2015 — Ron Klemencic was recognized as the 2015 Professional Engineer of the Year by the Puget Sound Engineering Council (PSEC) at their annual awards banquet. He was selected “for his outstanding service to the engineering profession and his lifetime of achievement in excellence and innovation,” including the “advancement of performance-based seismic design methodologies.” He has led the design of 36 PBSD buildings—more than any other engineer in the country. Ron is the sixth MKA leader to receive this honor, which is given to a professional engineer who has made significant contributions to the engineering profession and to their community.

» Ron Klemencic wins 2015 PSEC Professional Engineer of the Year

01.26.2015 — Brian McIntyre was announced as “2015 Engineer of the Year” by the American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) Washington at their annual awards banquet held Friday, January 23.  The award is bestowed annually to an engineer who “embodies the highest level of service and integrity to the engineering profession.”  Jon Magnusson, a former recipient of the award, nominated Brian and introduced him as this year’s winner during the ceremony. 

» Brian McIntyre Named "Engineer of the Year"

01.26.2015 — MKA was honored with an ACEC Washington Platinum Award for its role in the San Ysidro Land Port of Entry (SYLPOE) Modernization. SYLPOE, located just south of San Diego, is the busiest land border crossing in the world. Working alongside The Miller Hull Partnership, MKA’s civil and structural teams carefully orchestrated the modernization, setting new standards for efficiency, security, aesthetics, and sustainability – all while the port continued to function on a 24/7 basis. MKA’s entry will now move on to the ACEC National Competition held in April in Washington, D.C. Read more about our project and other ACEC winners in the Seattle Daily Journal of Commerce special section.

» SYLPOE Wins Platinum Award

MKA News